Introverts Vs. Extraverts

We all know that Extraverts are really communicative and like being in a crowd and love attention. But us, Introverts, don’t. Some people need to understand that there is a difference between shyness and introversion. 

I’m an introvert. It’s something that has bugged me for my whole life. People find it hard to understand that I’m not shy. My mom and I always had arguments about what she called shyness and me not being communicative enough. She would always compare me my happy-go-lucky, communicative and people-loving friends. She would nag me for not going to parties or outings and not being talkative at family dinners. Like today. I love my family, but I don’t love talking a lot, unlike my sister, who can’t stop once she starts talking. She’s an Extravert. What’s weird about her is that she’s a shy Extravert. she loves company, but it takes some time for her to get used to being with strangers. But once she gets used to them, she is unstoppable! 

I wish I was an Extravert. When I look at my friends an how they are always attending parties and meeting new people, I get kinda jealous. But once I am at such a party, I start dreaming about going home, into my comfortable room, doing whatever I like. At first I thought I was shy,  but then I realized that I don’t have a problem with communication. I just don’t love people. I can’t just talk to any person, like a lot of my friends do. It has to be a certain kind of person, a person that catches my interest. I also don’t love seeing my friends too often, or randomly calling them up. I love my own space. Sometimes, I don’t see my friends just because I want to be home and listen to music. 

It’s so hard for people to realize that I’m not shy! 

You know when people listen to their favorite musician in concert and they do all the jumping and head-shaking? I can’t do that. I was at a Deep Purple concert, but I wasn’t jumping around like some animal. When I’m listening to my music, I like to smoke and stand and listen. 

How do you explain all this to friends and family and strangers? 

 

Leave a Reply

