Smoking

smoking addiction

I am not going to talk about how bad smoking is! Well, sure it is bad, but this is not my topic today.

As you guys know, or you probably don’t, I study at the Academy of Fine Arts. This is a place that has a bad reputation because of the “artists” that study there and one thing artists do very often is smoking. I am a smoker, I have to admit. I know it is bad! I just like it. I started smoking a few years ago in summer when my sister and I had nothing to do so we decided to taste our dad’s Camel. Which was a bad idea, since he only smokes yellow Camel, which is the worst I have ever tasted! So having nothing much to do and always having a few cigarettes by our side, we became smokers. From 2 cigarettes a day, I went up to 10 cigarettes a day.

I know a lot of people who smoke. They do it because they like it. Like my dad. I always had my dad as an example (a bad example of course) of a smoker. He would sit in his “office”, (that’s how we call the room where the computer and the books are) turn on King Crimson or Pink Floyd and light a cigarette. I watched him do it many times so I grew up thinking that music can’t be enjoyed if you don’t smoke. So I always have music on if I smoke or if I talk. I don’t smoke unless I’m doing something else.

Now let’s get to the point shall we! As I said before, I know a lot of smokers. What makes me mad about the majority of them is:

1. They claim not to be smokers. I know loads of such people, especially girls. They smoke only with their smoker friends, who they meet almost everyday, but when someone asks them whether they smoke or not, they deny it. If you smoke 10 cigarettes a week, you are a smoker already! No need to deny it! Especially in front of people who see you actually doing it! It always drives me mad. I hate when people do something and don’t confess to actually doing it.

2. They constantly complain about how bad smoking is. Every time these people grab a cigarette, they get this disgusted face, light the cigarette and start claiming that cigarettes are slowly killing us and we should get rid of them, but they smoke anyway! The whole world knows how bad they are and those who are worried by it don’t smoke! If you are so worried about dying at the age of 19 and have to constantly nag about it and say that you don’t like the taste of cigarettes, then why do you smoke? Because it’s cool? Because you’re an “artist”? Or what? It’s a myth that giving up is not easy! It’s damn easy if you want to!  There were days when I felt bad and I hadn’s smoked at all! It’s not that difficult! Ex-smokers I know always tell me that it wasn’t difficult. So if you don’t have the guts to smoke then don’t! Nobody is asking you to do that! Stop complaining!

I’m sorry, I just went a little mad. It happens to me sometimes.

Leave a Reply

