Summer Films

Now that school has begun, and I have to get private lessons in like 5 subjects, I won’t have enough time for my precious movies. I downloaded a lot of movies I wanted to watch in summer, but somehow, I had only one month to watch them. Here is a list of those few films:

1. Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels:

I have written about this film in the previous words, and I simply have no words to describe just how much I loved it! It was amazing, stunning, bad-ass, witty, funny as hell, and definitely left me begging for more.

2. Cruel Intentions:

Who doesn’t love sexy bitches is romantic movies and handsome guys who cry because they realize that they were someone’s toy? The movie was so cute, so bitchy and so sexy that I couldn’t stop watching it over and over again. I really liked it, I’m a huge fan of it! I loved Ryan Phillippe so I knew I had to watch the movie.

3. Flags Of Our Fathers.

I knew the picture “Raising The Flag On Iwo Jima” long before I watched this movie, and I couldn’t stop thinking about it. I thought about how amazing and epic and well done the photo was, and after watching this film, I felt guilty about not thinking about who this soldiers were, why did they raise the flag in reality, what they had been through, and how hey lived after this photo. The movie, directed by Clint Eastwood, has such a fresh feel to it and looks so natural that you totally forget that it is a film. I was shocked everytime some soldier died, and cried everytime Ryan Phillippe’s character remembered the Battle Of Iwo Jima. This movie won’t leave anyone without emotions and will always be remembered as a masterpiece (I think)

4. Lincoln Lawyer. (Yes, I am obsessed with Ryan Phillipe)

I watched this movie spontaneously on TV. My father said it was a good one and said I should watch it. I wasn’t really that much into it, since I don’t really love all this american movies about lawyers and criminals (except for Primal Fear), but I noticed just how handsome Ryan Phillippe is in this movie and he became my favorite actor from then on. Can’t really say much about the movie, except for “I wasn’t impressed, but it was okay”

5. The I inside.

Watched it only because of Ryan, again! It’s a lot like Butterfly effect, only less mature. I liked Ryan in the movie of course, but in general, it was nothing special.

6. The Eagle

Jamie Bell and Channing Tatum in one movie? How AWESOME can it be?? I watched it the moment I saw the trailer, and really liked it! The fact that Jamie Bell is a great actor doesn’t need proving, but he was amazing in this film! Unlike Channing Tatum, whose face changed from deep-thought-face to angry and vice versa. The movie is mainly about friendship, how the slave saves his master’s life because they become really good friends. It was cute in a way, and the ending was cool. The only thing I didn’t like is that by seeing the trailer and the poster, one might think that it is an epic film, which it is supposed to be, but isn’t. I didn’t really see the epicness of it and of the final battle which is supposed to rock your socks off. But it’s worth watching anyway.

7. Snatch

Another Guy Ritchie masterpiece, starring amazing actors like: Vinnie Jones, Benicio Del Torro, Jason Statham, Jason Flemyng and most importantly-Brad Pitt in the role of an Irish Gypsy, who lives with is mother in a caravan. To be honest, I couldn’t understand a word of what Brad Pitt said in the movies, but that was the funniest part. It’s a really amusing movie, with lots of funny quotes and a lot corpses that’s for sure.

8. Last Night.

What I liked about this movie, was that it’s really pleasant to watch, and it’s filmed well, and the actors do their job well. In short, it’s about a married couple whose marriage is slowly falling apart because Keira Knightley’s character is jealous of her husband’s relationship with his co-worker. A lot of things happen in one night, and both of them try not to tell each other that they actually cheated on their partner, but the ending leaves you quite satisfied. It was kind of boring to watch in moments, but it’s a nice movie.

9. The Boys Are Back.

I never paid attention to how much of a good actor Clive Owen is. I saw the parts of this movie on TV, and liked the fact that the soundtrack consisted mainly of Sigur Ros songs, so I watched it on DVD, and it was so cute! Such a nice movie, with great music. It is really sad at times, and the music makes it even sadder. Clive Owen is the only actor who can play a widower, who has two songs and wants to know his older son a bit closer. The father-son relationship in this movie is shown very well, and it’s not exaggerated, probably because it wasn’t dont in Hollywood.

10.Hanna

There was absolutely nothing interesting and special in this movie, except for the soundtrack, for me that is. When I watched the trailer, I couldn’t wait to see the movie, but when I saw it at last, I was very disappointed. I expected it to be a real hard-boiled action, with many thrilling moments, and amusing fights in between, but the only thing that made the fights amusing was the music. I was really bored. The end of the movies was supposed to be shocking and was supposed to leave you asking for more, but it didn’t. I knew how it would end. Although I really love Eric Bana, Saorse Ronan, Kate Blanchett, and Joe Wrights other movies (Atonement, Pride & Prejudice), I didn’t like Hanna. Wright should stick to 20th century-based movies I think.

11. Friends With Benefits.

I think this is the only romantic comedy movie I saw this summer. FWB is like any other typical movie about friends who just want to have sex with no strings attached, and end up falling in love, but what made this movie different from others and a bit more special, is the chemistry between Mila Kunis and Justin Timberlake. These two make such an amazing couple, that you can’t help liking the movie. It’s really funny and has a lot of memorable moments, one of the best romantic comedies after Love Actually I’ve ever seen.

And Lastly! : Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows Part 2!

I have been reading HP since the age of six, and watching it since the age of 7, and now, after ten years, it’s like my childhood is over. I’m sure I’m not the only one feeling so nostalgic. I have no new movies to wait for each year! It’s so bad. HP is definitely a legend. I really like the movie, I loved it! The acting was amazing, the three leads acted peculiarly well! The tension while watching the movies is huge! Every second makes your heart beat faster. But I was a very little bit disappointed. The dialogue between Dumbledore and Harry seemed added only because of politeness or something. Dumbledore was supposed to explain everything to Harry, why he didn’t explain everything in the beginning to Harry, why he didn’t tell him about his family and all that, but in the movie, the conversation was lame. I was impressed by it in the book, but not in the film. Fred’s death was one very very well. Ron and Hermione kiss was fantastic! Snape’s death was the moment that made me cry more than I had ever cried about any HP movie. I was also a bit disappointed by how Harry killed Voldemort. I didn’t realize that he died until he began falling to pieces, which made me unsatisfied because I was expecting something a lot bigger! But it wasn’t… But all in all, this movie deserves to placed in the greatest movies of all time, and was very well done for the ending of the great HP.

Leave a Reply

